norooz

12 03 2008

[By Shideh]   It is this time of the year again; Yaade Norooz e Tehran Bekheir.  I feel the nature’s longing for spring, I feel its heart beat for spring, its open arms to welcome spring as the trees, flowers, and every living creature (on the northern hemisphere) show their excitement for the New Year and are once again filled with life, waiting to greet a new day, Norooz.  I want to deeply clean our house this weekend, clean every closet, every little detail that has been neglected for a year.  I want to wear new clothes, get a hair cut, learn new things, meet new people, and send letters/emails/text messages to people I have already been fortunate to know.  I want to be all prepared to greet Norooz this year, to be in phase with my surroundings in welcoming Spring into our little house in Berkeley, this wonderful Iranian tradition that I can’t imagine living without. 

haft_seen.jpg

My mother has grown “sabzeh” for everyone in  my family this year (a type of plant/herb, a “haft seen” item as a part of the Norooz tradition).  Every morning I wake up to see that it has grown noticeably, as if it has realized that Norooz is coming in a week and it has to grow to a decent size before Norooz enters the house.  Flowers in our little yard are all prepared and full of excitement and life while quietly waiting, as if they are holding their breath, looking at each other with their shiny eyes, hiding their smile, waiting…    

The Iranian community in the Bay Area, California has organized a Norooz Celebration at the San Francisco City Hall on March 28th where Ballet Afsaneh is invited to perform.  Here’s a summary of the dance performance (http://www.turquoisebridges.org/index2.php) that I thought you might find interesting: 

“Celebrating the rebirth of nature and the renewed hopes of spring, the Opening Ceremony performance for Norooz 2008 is dedicated to the powerful goddess Anahita, the great mother goddess or Mother Nature, venerated and worshipped in many cultures and by many names, since prehistoric times.In Persian mythology Anahita rules the waters and the fertility of the earth. Her sacred animals are the peacock and the dove. In this performance, created by Sharlyn Sawyer of Ballet Afsaneh in collaboration with music composer Mohammad Nejad and the Nejad World Music Center orchestra, the ancient icons of Anahita are portrayed, along with the folk dance of the Gilan region in present day Iran, a region known for its agricultural bounty. The celebration of Norooz marked the first day of the year in historic times. It is a celebration of our renewed hopes, the dream of a world at peace, and in harmony with nature.” 

A video of Ballet Afsaneh’s performance at the City Hall last year:

Actions

Information

19 responses

12 03 2008
shadi

Shideh jaan,
what a Bahari post, I could feel the smell of spring n the clean house and haft seen… well, this year the weather has been miserable here
and there is not much indication of spring in the weather but there sure is spring in our hearts.. by the way my mum is growing Sabzeh for everybody
khub bashi Shideh aziz

12 03 2008
Shideh

Dear Shadi,
merci az commente ghashanget.
Do you still have snow out there? I think Spring is even lovelier when you go through a hard winter. Did you find all the “haft-sin” items easily in your city? I read on your blog that you have a 2 month-old son. Many many congratulations, this is his first Norooz.
khub o khosh baashee and stay in touch

14 03 2008
Dina

You wrote beautifully 🙂 I miss Iran’s spring so much.. Happy New Year:)

15 03 2008
Shideh

Dina joon,
thank you for your comment. It’s great to hear from you. How is everything going? Norooz e to ham kheily mobarak. take care and stay in touch

15 03 2008
Dina

thank you, everything is fine, I am in touch every day, since I have set my home-page to Tehran shake 😉

16 03 2008
شادی

شیده عزیز
من یک بار اینجا جواب گذاشتم نمی دونم چی شد این بلاگ اسپات بعضی وقت ها کامنت ها رو می خوره! بله ما هنوز برف داریم اینجا و تازه قراره چند تا طوفان برف دیگه هم داشته باشیم وسایل هفت سین در شهر کوچک صد هزار نفری ما پیدا نمی شه باید بریم تورنتو حدود یک ساعت و اندی رانندگیه
پسرک امسال عید دو ماه و چند روزه خواهد بود و اگرچه که تو مهمونی عید نمی یاد و با پرستارش می شینه خونه ولی مطمئنم از اولین عیدش حسابی لذت خواهد برد (مهمونی نمی بریمش به دو دلیل یک پرده گوش حساس دو انواع و اقسام ویروس هایی که آدم ها تو این فصل با خودشون دارند)
خوب باشی شیده عزیز

16 03 2008
Hooman

Hi dear Shideh and Shahwhin,

Congratulation to you and your dear families for the New Year (1387). I really enjoyed your note on Norooz. haalo haavaye Norooz-e Tehran ro zendeh kard baraam …. Thanks so so so … much. I wish you and Shawhin jaan will have a year white as snow, soft as silk, sweet as honey and full of accomplishments along with health.

Please give my special regards to your mom; I have also grown Sabze and every morning look at them to see how fast they are growing up as you said …

pishaa pish Norooz ro tabrik migam az samime ghalb. saale besiaar khoobi daashte baashin. Hooman 🙂

17 03 2008
Shideh

Dear Dina, I’m so honored to hear this. I couldn’t believe it, in fact, I had to read your comment a few times 🙂
It really motivated me to make this blog better. Thanks so much for the support and for staying in touch,
Happy happy Norooz

17 03 2008
Shideh

Shadi Joon,
it makes me so happy to see your comment with Farsi fonts. Damet Garm. I know it sounds weird, but I really miss snow. I think Spring doesn’t feel as real when you don’t experience snow in Winter. Take good care of your little boy and have a beautiful New Year.

17 03 2008
Shideh

Hooman jaan,
chetouree? thanks so much for the beautiful note. I also wish you and your family a beautiful Norooz and a wonderful year, filled with health, joy, and prosperity. This is a big year for you with so many decisions to make. I wish you the best, always.

20 03 2008
Nazy

Shideh Jan, Shawhin Jan:

Eidetoon mobarak! I hope the new year brings the two of you joy, prosperity, success and love. Nowroozetan pirooz!

20 03 2008
Amir

Happy Norouz dear Shideh 😀

20 03 2008
Shideh

Nazy joon,
Eide shoma ham kheily kheily mobarak. I wish you all the best the world has to offer. You bring so much happiness to our lives with your writing. Khoob o khosh baasheen va hamishe benevisid. I wish you and your family a great Norooz and a wonderful year, filled with health and prosperity.

20 03 2008
Shideh

Amir Jaan, it was great to hear from you. Happy Norouz to you too. Enjoy the beauties of this season and have a wonderful new year.

21 03 2008
shadi

شیده عزیز
بهار و عیدت مبارک سال خوبی برای تو و همه کسایی که دوستشون داری باشه

1 04 2008
Pantea Vaziri

Shideh and Shawhin joon salam,

Hope all is fine. This is such a great blog you have put together here. I actually came across it while I was googling for some subject on Tehran’s earthquake risk management. I will bookmark it and check it often. I also want to ask if you happen to know the budget figure for disaster risk management in Tehran. I am trying to assume a reasonable number for my research and haven’t come to a conclusion yet. You seem to be resourseful and reading the related news often so I thought I would ask if you have seen such information somewhere.

Thanks and be in touch. I had no idea we are interested in so similar subjects.

Cheers,
Pantea

1 04 2008
Shideh

Pantea joon,
so good to hear from you after this long. This is very interesting; I had no idea you were interested in earthquake risk reduction and management either. I thought your research was on transportation engineering. I’m so excited to hear this. Please share your papers with us and later send us your thesis as we can learn a lot from your research. Please also feel free to write on this blog or bring new topics for discussion that you feel are helpful.

Regarding your question, according to a Disaster risk management profile for Tehran that was prepared in 2006, the total budget for disaster risk reduction in Iran is generally 2.5% of the total annual budget of the country, 1.5% of which is for advocacy and damage reduction, and a portion is used for emergency response.

please let us know if we can be of any help and stay in touch,
Shideh

4 04 2008
Pantea Vaziri

Thanks for your response. Yeah I got that part from the report IRI had in the World Conference of Disaster Reduction which might be interesting to you too:
http://www.unisdr.org/eng/mdgs-drr/national-reports/Iran-report.pdf

What I was looking for was the actual figure of the budget which I asked around after I left this comment here. But thanks for the response. I will send you a copy. One of my committee members is actually from IIEES in Iran. It’s tedious to work with data from Tehran as they have a “security” vision over everything but it is interesting.

We should be in touch.

Pantea

10 03 2009
maosud

kheili khosh halam ke ye hamchin ensanhaeeei ham ba man eid o jashn migirannnn . thanks alot ..

Leave a Reply

