important link on tehran seismic risks

16 05 2007

[By Shideh]

I found the following link helpful in learning about the risks that Tehran currently faces (please click on Tehran after opening the link).  This study is a disaster risk management profile prepared by the Earthquakes and Megacities Initiative (EMI) in August of 2005, which provides a summary of the current internal divisions, arrangements, and legislations/regulations, as well as the vulnerability issues within the mega-city of Tehran.  Additionally, it provides a summary of the existing disaster risk management arrangements for Tehran and the risks involved. http://www.pdc.org/emi/emihome.html;jsessionid=706C46482363EA0879BC15FCE8451EA0 

          

Iran political, seismicity, and seismic hazard maps (courtesy of USGS)

Actions

Information

2 responses

3 06 2008
Jack

I would like to thank you for such an excellent blog. Lots of great information.

I have great interest in Iran and on the study of earthquakes … My interest in Iran comes from by academic background (Archaeology) and this crazy belief that someday I will be able to stand in front of the ruins of Persepolis and the other great sites in Iran.

My other interest may be considered morbid curiosity, but I grew up with the ground constantly shaking under my feet (in San Salvador, El Salvador). We lived in Guatemala for some time, but we left before the earthquake of 1976 (I believe), and I also was fortunate to not go through the earthquakes of 1986 and 2001 (two events exactly one month apart) in El Salvador.

I am curious as to the location of Tehran in reference to the Elburz mountains (I apologize in case I misspell any of the names). Even without the risk of seismic activity, are the flanks of the mountains facing Tehran prone to other risks such as avalanches or landslides? I don’t think I have heard of such an event, but perhaps I haven’t researched the topic in detail.

It would be great if you could entertain my question. Thank you again for this forum you are providing.

3 06 2008
Shideh

Dear Jack,
Thank you for your comment. I’m excited to have an archeologist visitor on our blog. Please make sure to visit the ruins of Persepolis (Takhte Jamshid) as well as countless other ancient sites in Iran. In my last trip to Iran, I met many tourists from all over the world on the plane going for the same reason, to discover Iran’s incredibly rich yet hidden history and culture.

Are you still living in El Salvador? It must be interesting living with earthquakes sort of like a constant part of your life.

Regarding your question, Tehran is located at the foot of the Alborz mountain range, on the south side. So, if you look at the maps above, the high seismicity zone in the north shown with dark red colors approximately outline Alborz. When you go to Tehran, Alborz is like a huge wall on the north of the city that reaches way beyond any high rise. It’s a magical view and a great way to find your way around the city (Alborz is on the North). There are landslide risks I believe, both seismic and non-seismic. I can do more search and send you some links if you are interested. I also remember cases of avalanche on the way to the ski resorts on Alborz from Tehran. I will write more about Alborz since you are interested. Visit us again soon,

Best,
Shideh

Leave a Reply

